• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks or on the Web, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, Slack, and browsed web pages. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.


Results: 27th Annual Jack Taylor Memorial

Page history last edited by roger patterson 10 years, 3 months ago

27th Annual Jack Taylor Memorial

Nov. 10-11, 2012

Victoria, BC


18 people took part in the 27th annual Jack Taylor Memorial, a typical number for this tournament.   Pre-registration  at 20 people plus a few late entries was promising to be a larger than usual crowd but a few no-shows and sickness  cut down the number somewhat.


The winners were Constantin Rotariu and Paul Leblanc.  The deciding game was eventful with Paul establishing a clear and decisive advantage but then things went horribly wrong.

(White: Rotariu, Black: Leblanc - going from memory so a pawn or two might be wrong)

Constantin found 1. Rg6 in time pressure but after 1......fg followed up with 2. f7+? Kf7 3. Ng5+ eventually drawing.    Instead, 2. Ng5! is a pleasing crusher.  The spectators were all very disappointed.


Good results were also turned in by many of the juniors who are moving up in the rankings.


A photo album has been posted by the TD on Facebook (tournament photos, historical photos relating to Jack Taylor and misc. other stuff)


Thanks to the winners Constantin & Paul for donating their prizes to Victoria Chess!


Thanks to Mark for his work as TD.



For a  biography on Jack Taylor see http://www.chessville.com/vignettes/JackTaylor.htm


Organizer: Roger Patterson

TD: Mark S. Dutton, IA 


Crosstable in VCC database:


No.NameOld RtgPerfNew Rtg12345Score
1. Rotariu, Constantin 1683 2084 1784 +19W =4B +11B +7W =2W 4.0
2. Leblanc, Paul 1903 1981 1923 +15W +3B +5W B =1B 4.0
3. Stewart, Deron 1789 1894 1822 +14B -2W +16B +8W =4W 3.5
4. Patterson, Roger 2052 1810 2004 =6B =1W +13B +5W =3B 3.5
5. Haines, Duncan 1686 1851 1729 +17B +8W -2B -4B +12W 3.0
6. Ding, Jill 1627 1758 1664 =4W -12W +14B +13W =7B 3.0
7. Richardson, Ross 1828 1726 1798 +13B =11W +12B -1B =6W 3.0
8. Forman, Ken 1789 1592 1745 +16W -5B +10W -3B +14W 3.0
9. Reny, Alex 0 1531 1531 -11B -13W +15B +19W +16B 3.0
10. James, Rowan 1347 1627 1423 =12B =15W -8B +16W =11B 2.5
11. Geng, Tian Tian 1767 1615 1725 +9W =7B -1W =12B =10W 2.5
12. Tate, Bill 1688 1571 1656 =10W +6B -7W =11W -5B 2.0
13. Peters, Nick 1465 1518 1477 -7W +9B -4W -6B +19B 2.0
14. Huang, Patrick 1355 1339 1350 -3W +19B -6W +17B -8B 2.0
15. Milonas, Nikolas 1510 1298 1474 -2B =10B -9W B +17W 2.0
16. Edgar, Garth 1383 1174 1338 -8B +17W -3W -10B -9W 1.0
17. Lathwell, Jordan 1001 1073 1007 -5W -16B +19W -14W -15B 1.0
18. Catona, Dan 1889 1889 1889 F  
19. McFetridge, Robert 923 707 897 -1B -14W -17B -9B -13W 0.0

Legend: T: TD Bye; B (except when showing color): half point bye; f: forfeit win; F: forfeit loss.



Previous Jack Taylor Memorials:

2012 Jack Taylor Memorial

2011 Jack Taylor Memorial

2010 Jack Taylor Memorial

2009 Jack Taylor Memorial

2008 Jack Taylor Memorial

2007 Jack Taylor Memorial

2006 Jack Taylor Memorial

List of Previous Winners of the Jack Taylor Memorial (Thanks to Stephen Wright)

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.